Want to quit Facebook forever? There has to be some good reason I’m sure. Everyone has their own reasons for doing certain things. Though, Facebook is flexible enough to allow you to delete and deactivate your facebook account.
The best choice, however, is to deactivate the facebook account. But, certain things like bad memories, time constraints, the excessive bad experience may want you to delete your facebook account.
If you have made up your mind to delete facebook permanently and there are no chances for you to come back, the only question you could think of is ‘how do I permanently delete my facebook account’??
If it is so, read this guide till the end, you will have all your queries solved. But, if you are angry at the moment and quitting Facebook is just a decision came out of your anger, I would suggest you wait and re-think.
Because deleting facebook permanently is something which cannot be reverted.
If you are upset or angry enough that you don’t wanna give yourself a second thought, I would suggest you to getting your account deactivated (Now don’t ask me ‘how do I deactivate my facebook account’).
How to deactivate facebook account is something most of the Facebook users know already. This way you will have enough time to think again before deleting your facebook account forever.
Now, after re-thinking, if you are sure enough to permanently delete facebook, Let’s see, how do we delete facebook account permanently.
How To Permanently Delete Facebook
Like I said above, before deleting facebook, first consider deactivating it. Because there is a difference between deleting facebook account and deactivating it.
When you delete your facebook account, you lose access to your facebook forever and can not get it back. But, if you deactivate your facebook, you can log in back at any point of time using the same ID password.
Now after knowing the difference between both of them, if you are wondering ‘how do I deactivate facebook’, let’s have a look at the procedure and know how to deactivate my facebook.
Step 1. Go to Settings, by clicking on the drop-down menu on top of the page.
Step 2. Now under Security, click over the option ‘deactivate your account'(See the screenshot). In the list of options, again click on the link ‘deactivate your account’. Your account would be deactivated.
Now, coming to our actual guide i.e. how to permanently delete facebook account. Mind you, deleting facebook makes all your data inaccessible for the future.
You can not get your data back by any means, once you have deleted your facebook account. It may take up to 1 month to delete your data from the -backup files at Facebook’s end.
But, before moving to the steps, make sure you follow the below three steps.
Take a backup of your facebook:
Since you have decided to delete the facebook account, you won’t be able to re-access your Facebook data. So to be on a safer side, I recommend you take a back-up of your Facebook data. For this-
- Go to Settings, by clicking on the downward arrow on the top right corner of the page.
- Now in the General Account Settings page, click on ‘download a copy of your Facebook data.’ and you are done.
Log out your facebook account from all the devices.
To delete facebook permanently, you need to avoid login for the next 14 days from the day of the deletion request.
We often keep our facebook account logged in from the different devices like PC, laptop, mobile, tablet. So, to avoid accidental login, keep your FB log out from all the devices.
Disconnect facebook account, from all the third-party apps
Before proceeding to delete the account, we need to disconnect all the third party apps which are connected to Facebook. How do we do that, let’s see-
- Go to Settings.
- Click on Apps, from the left side options. A list of all the apps that are connected to your facebook will be opened.
- Hover on any app, and click on the remove [X] option, see the image.
- Remove all the apps following the same procedure.
Once you are done doing all the above-mentioned steps, follow the below guide to delete facebook account. It takes hardly two steps to be followed.
Step 1. Deleting facebook account is not difficult, what difficulty is, to find the delete option in the facebook. But, since you are reading this guide, now it’s easy either. Just click on this link and you will be redirected to the delete my account page.
Step 2. Once done, you’ll be redirected to a confirmation page. Here you need to enter the captcha and your password. Do the prescribed actions and your account will be deleted. You’ll see a message like this-
It takes 14 days to permanently delete facebook. Within this span of time, if you decide to come back, you can simply log in again with the same ID and password and cancel your request of account deletion.
If you are still willing to delete your account, click on Confirm deletion or in case if you have changed your mind, you can still cancel your deletion request by clicking on Cancel deletion. See how the screen looks like.
According to Facebook
“It may take up to 90 days to delete all of the things you’ve posted, like your photos, status updates or other data stored in backup systems.”
But, the good part is, while your account gets deleted permanently, no one can access your information nor anyone can contact you.
Hope you guys enjoyed the tutorial, please let us know your views via comments and don’t forget to read our this guide on Facebook.