Life is uncertain, and the only permanent thing in this world is change. Everything changes with time. Strangers turn into friends, and sometimes our best friends turn into sworn enemies be it real life or in the virtual world.
Facebook is like a second life to us. We make friends here, build relationships and spend some quality time. But, what if someone starts bullying you? What if someone is continually offending you?
Harasses you with inappropriate messages?? Or makes you irritated by sharing odd contents all the time??
In that case, the only solution we can think of is to block that person. Right?? If you block someone on facebook, you will not have to bear with that person anymore. So, if you have decided to do so, here is the guide on how to block someone on Facebook.
Remember, If you block someone, you won’t be friends with them anymore, even after you unblock them.
How To Block Someone On Facebook
Here, I’ll show you step by step guide to let you know how to block people on Facebook. The good part with this blocking thing is you can unblock them anytime when you change your mind.
They will not be in your friend list, though, but at least you can see their profile and vice versa. There are three methods for blocking someone on Facebook. All of them are really easy. I’ll be writing about all here. You can follow whichever suit you.
- To block someone on facebook, you need to log in to your Facebook account. (You know the way, Right!)
- On the blue navigation bar on the top of the page, you can notice a lock icon. Click on that and you’ll be shown a drop-down of the list with three options. The screenshot will help you to find the option quickly.
- Click on the third option that is ”How do I stop someone from bothering me?”. As sooner you do this, another sub-option will be loaded swiftly.
- As you can see you are asked to write the name of the person, you want to block. Type that person’s name who is supposed to be blocked and click on Block.
- A list of all the people related to this name will be shown. Verify the victim (or to be-victim to be more precise) and hit the Block button.
- You’ll be shown a confirmation dialog box warning that ‘ XYZ will no longer be able to chat with you, see your profile, etc.'(This is what we wanted I guess). Click on Block XYZ, where XYZ refers to the name of the person you wanted to block.
That’s it. Now, you don’t have to bear with that unwanted person. Simple steps, isn’t it? The second method to block a person is as follows.
If you are not sure of the person’s name you want to block but know him by his profile, here is the guide.
- Log in to your Facebook account and visit that person’s profile by going to your friend’s list, from their updates like status, comment or any other means.
- On his timeline, you can see ‘three dots’ beneath the Friends button and next to the Message button. Click on those dots (I’ve encircled the option with red color), and you’ll see four options. One of them is a block. Click on that.
- On clicking confirm, you will be asked to confirm the block. Click on Confirm and you are done.
Even though two methods are more than enough to know how to block someone on Facebook, but let me tell you a third method so that you don’t have to ask anyone ‘How do I block someone on Facebook?’ ever again.
- Go to settings by clicking on the blue down-word arrow, on the top right corner of the page.
- Click on Blocking in the in the list of options on the left side. Where you can directly block someone by putting their email ID or name in the text field. Once done, click on the Block.
- A list of people matching your search will appear. Select the correct person and click Block. A confirmation dialog will appear, click on Confirm.
How To Unblock A Person
If at any point in time, you change your mind and want to unblock that person you can. Just follow the steps.
- Go to Blocking by following the above steps mentioned in Method 3.
- Here you can see the name of a person(s) written Unblock next to their name. Click on Unblock and Confirm.
Blocking someone is really easy but, there are many other ways you can avoid blocking people. If you are annoyed by their constant messages, you can prevent them from sending messages on my message settings.
Or if you don’t want to see their updates you can hide their feeds. But, if nothing works out, and you are left with the only option to delete them, go ahead.
But, remember once a blocked friend can’t be in your friend’s list until you add them again. So, think twice before blocking someone, you will be helpless if someone blocks you on facebook.
Here, I’m am wrapping up the article, if you have anything to ask feel free to comment.
And don’t forget to read my previous article on how to restore deleted facebook messages and photos.